North Carolina Geological Survey Staffing

 

 

NEW NCGS Logo

 

This site has been permanently moved and is no longer maintained.

Please use the new site of the North Carolina Geological Survey

http://www.geology.enr.state.nc.us/»http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/lr/geological_home

 

If you have this page bookmarked, please update your bookmark to the new site.

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/lr/geological_home

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Scroll Down to Enter old site

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North Carolina Geological Survey
Office Directory, Staffing and Responsibilities



            NCGS Home > NC Geological Survey Staffing

The North Carolina Geological Survey has three offices statewide, two in Raleigh, and a third in Swannanoa, near Asheville. The primary responsibilities of each office are listed below. Use this directory to locate the office which can best serve you.



Operations Branch - Main Office, Map and Publication Sales

Responsibilities - Main Office



Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources - Director's Office
Staff Member Position Responsibilities E-mail Address Telephone
Tracy E, Davis, PE Division Director Director of DEMLR tracy.davis@denr.gov 919-707-9201

Staffing - Main Office - North Carolina Geological Survey Operations Branch

Geological Survey - Main Office
Staff Member Position Responsibilities E-mail Address Telephone
Dr. Kenneth B. Taylor, PG State Geologist Geological Survey Section Manager kenneth.b.taylor@ncdenr.gov 919-707-9211
Randy Bechtel, CEE Project Geologist Earth Science Education and Public Outreach; Piedmont Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project randy.bechtel@ncdenr.gov 919-707-9204
Michael Medina Engineering Technician Map and Publication Sales, GIS Support michael.medina@ncdenr.gov 919-707-9203
Dr. Jeff Reid, PG Senior Geologist Industrial and Metallic Minerals jeff.reid@ncdenr.gov 919-707-9205
Joyce Sanford Administrative Assistant Office Administration joyce.sanford@ncdenr.gov 919-707-9210
Mailing Address: 1612 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1612
Physical Address: 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-7687 - 919-707-9210
Publication Sales: 919-707-9203          e-mail address: Michael.Medina@ncdenr.gov

Visit our online store!  (This link opens in a new browser window)


Back to Top


Geological Survey - Raleigh Field Office and Repository

Responsibilities - Raleigh Field Office and Repository

Staffing - Raleigh Field Office and Repository

Geological Survey - Raleigh Field Office and Repository
Staff Member Position Responsibilities E-mail Address Telephone

Dr. Kathleen Farrell, PG

 

Senior Geologist Coastal Plain Stratigraphy and Geomorphology - Coastal Cooperative Study kathleen.farrell@ncdenr.gov 919-733-7353

Phil Bradley, PG

 

Senior Geologist Piedmont Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project pbradley@ncdenr.gov 919-733-7353

Kenny Gay, PG

 

Geologist I Heavy mineral studies; Upper and Middle Coastal Plain studies kenny.gay@ncdenr.gov 919-733-7353

Heather Hanna

 

Geologist I Piedmont Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project heather.hanna@ncdenr.gov 919-733-7353
Mailing Address: 1620 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1620
Physical Address: 4100-A, Reedy Creek Road,
Raleigh, NC 27607-6411 - 919-733-7353

Back to Top


Geological Survey - Asheville Regional Office

Responsibilities - Asheville Regional Office

Staffing - Asheville Regional Office

Geological Survey - Asheville Regional Office
Staff Member Position Responsibilities E-mail Address Telephone
Rick Wooten, PG Senior Geologist - Engineering Geologist

Geohazards and Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping -
STATEMAP Project

rick.wooten@ncdenr.gov 828-296-4500
Bart Cattanach, PG Senior Geologist Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping -
STATEMAP Project
 bart.cattanach@ncdenr.gov  828-296-4500
Vacant Project Geologist Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping -
STATEMAP Project
-- --
Nick Bozdog, PG Geologist I GIS Support for Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project nick.bozdog@ncdenr.gov 828-296-4500
Address: 2090 US Highway 70,   Swannanoa, NC 28778
Main Telephone: 828.296.4500 

Back to Top